A Quest… for Information

Image

Expanding your network can be scary.

So earlier this semester my Career Readiness prof. assigned us the difficult but necessary task of expanding our networks and reaching out to experts in the advertising/marketing field.

I really had no idea where to begin but regardless I pulled up my socks and began to ask around. I asked a lot of 3rd year students where they did their placement and got a few connections that way… oh so many nights of creeping Linkedin profiles.

Regardless, I got a contact name so I got ready to pounce and attacked this man from all angles. In other words I added him on Linkedin, Facebook, Skype, Twitter, and to my email contacts. I even commented on his blog. There was no way this man could ignore me. I was right, he didn’t but he also wanted very little to do with a lowly 2nd year advertising student.

So I was back to square one, which is really okay. I believe everything happens for a reason. I just have to be persistent and keep smiling. I began to tweet the account executives at various ad agencies (If you never ask you’ll never know right?). While I was waiting to hear back from someone, I had applied to a content manger position at a Toronto boutique agency. Long story short I didn’t get the job but I stayed in contact with the manager. He was very friendly and easy to talk to so I finally worked up the courage to ask him if he’d meet with me and talk to me about his job. He very readily agreed. Needless to say I was thrilled.

That very day, a month after my last “reah out” tweet, I got a Facebook message from one of the aacount executives telling me that she’d be happy to talk to me! She even offered to get me some contact info from some of her co-workers.

There are some wonderful people out there… and all I have to do is ask. Who knows where these contacts will lead me?

After all, everyone knows someone.

 
 
Leave a Reply

